New Books!

I went to WH Smiths today and bought two new books I’ve been dying to read for ages! Read on for my thoughts on the latest additions to my already overflowing bookshelf!

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak (2005)thebookthief

1939. Nazi Germany. The country is holding its breath. Death has never been busier.

Liesel, a nine-year-old girl, is living with a foster family on Himmel Street. Her parents have been taken away to a concentration camp. Liesel steals books. This is her story and the story of the inhabitants of her street when the bombs begin to fall…

I’ve seen this book in the bookshop several times over the years but it’s never stood out for me as one to pick up on a whim. It was brought to my attention again when it was announced that a film adaptation would be hitting UK cinemas on 31st January 2014. The trailer looked excellent so I jumped at the chance to buy the book. I just need to read it now before the film is released! I’ll post a review on this blog when I do!

A Game of Thrones by George R.R Martin (1996)game of thrones

Summers span decades. Winter can last a lifetime. And the struggle for the Iron Throne has begun.

As Warden of the north, Lord Eddard Stark counts it a curse when King Robert bestows on him the office of the Hand. His honour weighs him down at court where a true man does what he will, not what he must… and a dead enemy is a thing of beauty.

The old gods have no power in the south, Stark’s family is split and there is treachery at court. Worse, the vengeance-mad heir of the deposed Dragon King has grown to maturity in exile in the Free Cities. He claims the Iron Throne.

This is a pretty old book but it’s safe to say it hasn’t lost it’s appeal. I know George R.R Martin is a classic fantasy author before I even open his books, and that says something. He’s now published several books in his epic series A Song of Ice and Fire (of which A Game of Thrones) is the first, and there are still a few more to come, I think. Martin’s works have drawn legions of fans from across the world. He’s been compared to (and sometimes said to have bested) Tolkien. And he’s been given his own TV series on HBO to dramatise his books. Not much more to say really – you can’t really get much better! I’ve been looking for a chance to buy this book for a while, and now I can’t wait to get reading it!

gameofthrones.tv
Sean Bean stars in the TV series

One thought on “New Books!”

Leave a Reply

